Patrick Henry Community College - Official Site

Print Friendly Email This

PHCC Names Distinguished Alumni

The Patrick Henry Community College Foundation will honor 11 graduates of the college as distinguished alumni April 29.

     The Distinguished Alumni Awards, which will be presented at Chatmoss Country Club, recognize PHCC graduates for professional and community achievements and success.

     This year’s award recipients are: Pam Brinegar of Spencer; Ray Caldwell, Ph.D., of Bahama, North Carolina; Shirley Craven, Barbara Dove, Sue Martin, and Kathy Vernon, all of Martinsville; Eddie Dillard and Nicole Harris, both of Bassett; Craig Hicks of Ridgeway; Christy Yaple of Patrick Springs; and Mary Lou Yeatts, Ed.D., of Rockville, Maryland.

     Brinegar is a registered nurse at Edwards Adult Day Care Center in Martinsville and secretary/treasurer of Brinegar Trucking. She is also an active member and volunteer at Chatham Heights Baptist Church in Martinsville and the Spencer Penn Centre.

     Caldwell is an electrophysiologist with Parion Sciences in Durham, North Carolina. He has served as a grant reviewer for the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation and the American Heart Association and a first responder for the Orange Rural Fire Department in Hillsborough, North Carolina.

     Craven is the president and owner of Adkins Construction Company in Collinsville. She serves as director of the children’s choir and the hand-bell choir, Sunday school teacher, and Grief Share co-facilitator at First Baptist Church in Collinsville.

     Dove is the patient financial services director at Person Memorial Hospital in Roxboro, North Carolina. She also serves as a Sunday school and music teacher at Chatham Heights Baptist Church in Martinsville.

     Martin is the human resources and payroll manager at Nelson Automotive Group in Martinsville. She is an active member of the First Baptist Church in Martinsville along with the Martinsville Garden Club.

     Vernon is a human resources specialist with the City of Martinsville. She is a member of the Local Emergency Preparation Council and has served as director and secretary of the Horsepasture Ruritan Club.

     Dillard is a Virginia State Police trooper. He has served as a board member for CASA and is an active member of the Axton Volunteer Fire Department, Masonic Lodge #274, and Morning Star Holiness Church.

     Harris is the executive director of the Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals of Martinsville and Henry County. She served as a member of the United States Marine Corps and is a member of the Charity League of Martinsville and Henry County in addition to the HEY! Collaborative.

     Hicks is the regional distribution manager for Intertape Polymer Group in Danville. He served as a member of the United States Air Force. In addition, he is the volunteer assistant pastor, choir director, and youth director for Wayside Baptist Church in Ridgeway.

     Yaple is the director of the student success center at Patrick Henry Community College in Martinsville. She serves on the Henry County, Martinsville, and Patrick County Re-Entry Council, the West Piedmont Development Youth Board Council, the Piedmont Region Independent Living Coalition, and is an active Special Olympics and United Way Tax Preparation volunteer.

     Yeatts is an adjunct professor at Montgomery College in Germantown, Maryland and The Citadel in Charleston, South Carolina as well as a field experience faculty member of Walden University. She has been published in numerous journals and books and is an active volunteer with Alzheimer’s walks, Habitat for Humanity, United Way, and Relay for Life.

     Individual tickets for the dinner and award ceremony are $30, patron tables for eight are $225, and benefactor tables for eight are $500. Tickets for PHCC students are $25. Proceeds benefit the students and programs of PHCC. Tickets may be purchased through the PHCC Foundation Office by contacting Letitia Pulliam at (276) 656-0250 or